Epiphany {new age/spirituality}

What are the Seven Chakras?

November 22, 2011

This post was written by Hollywood Psychics; they are a group of live psychics, available 24 hours a day and 7 days week, who offer various psychic readings that can range from a tarot reading to clairvoyant readings

Chakras are subtle centers of energy within the body that, when open and flowing naturally, create a balanced relationship between mind and body. When these energy centers are moving freely, the body is in a healthy state of being. In an ideal setting all chakras are flowing freely at all times.

The word chakra is a Sanskrit word of ancient origin, meaning wheel or disc moving in a circular form, or turning. Sometimes referred to as lotuses (or lotus blossom) symbolizing the unfolding of flower pedals, chakras have a powerful influence on mind and body.

There are seven major chakras within the body and each one represents one of the elements in nature:

1. The Root Chakra (Muladhara) is located at the base of the spine and represents the element of earth. 
2. The Sacral Chakra (Svadhishthana) is located at the sacrum (the last bone in the spinal cord or the coccyx) represents the element of water.
3. The Solar Plexus Chakra (Minipura) is located in the navel area and represents the element of fire.
4. The Heart Chakra (Anahata) is located at the heart and represents the element of air.
5. The Throat Chakra (Vishuddha) is located at the throat and neck area and represents the element of sound.
6. The Third Eye Chakra (Ajna) is located between the eyebrows and represents the element of light.
7. The Crown Chakra (Sahasrara) is located at the crown of the head (the soft spot of a newborn), and represents the element of thought.

Each different chakra influences the way we react to the outer world. For example if the root chakra is not flowing properly, one might experience fear. Fear affects the body in different ways such as butterflies in the stomach or shortness of breath, etc. When this particular chakra is open and flowing freely, one would feel grounded and a sense of self-preservation.

Chakras are active at all times and are constantly moving inside the body as we breathe. Their function is to vitalize the body so that we can develop a balanced life with our inner and outer world. Studying the chakras and working to keep them open and flowing freely can be highly beneficial to the mind, body and spirit. 

Chakra Chakra Chakra Chakra Chakra

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *